KPMG Names New Tax Team

Amid a controversy over tax shelters, several executives left the practice earlier this month.
Stephen TaubJanuary 30, 2004

KPMG LLP has named a new team for its tax services division, which was at the center of a controversy for helping clients set up tax shelters.

James Brasher was named vice chair-tax services and John Chopack was named vice chair-tax services operations.

“This is a first step in addressing the management changes we announced on January 12,” said Eugene D. O’Kelly, chairman and chief executive. “Jim Brasher and John Chopack bring unquestioned integrity, business acumen, technical proficiency, and proven operating experience to understand the key issues, reach out to our clients and our people, and make the decisions necessary to achieve our goals.”

Drive Business Strategy and Growth

Drive Business Strategy and Growth

Learn how NetSuite Financial Management allows you to quickly and easily model what-if scenarios and generate reports.

Earlier this month, the Big Four accounting firm said that deputy chairman Jeff Stein, formerly vice chair of tax services, would retire at the end of this month; Jeff Eischeid, partner-in-charge of the tax practice’s personal financial planning practice, would be placed on administrative leave; and Richard Smith, who has served as vice chair of tax services for the past two years, would take on different practice responsibilities.

Brasher and Chopack succeed Smith and William Hibbitt respectively. According to the firm, Smith is taking on new responsibilities with KPMG’s global tax operation, while Hibbitt will return to a client service role.

Brasher joined KPMG in 1975 and was admitted to the partnership in 1985. He is currently the firm’s Midwest area managing partner for the federal tax practice.

Chopack was admitted to the partnership in 1981 and has served international clients for over 25 years. He currently heads the firm’s Tax, Risk, and Regulatory Matters group and was the mid-Atlantic area managing partner from 1998 to 2003.